Heat and LeBron win NBA Title

The Miami Heat won the NBA finals exactly six years ago today, fifteen minutes before midnight in Dallas. Thursday night, it was over long before midnight. The Miami Heat won the 2012 NBA Championship 121-106 over the Oklahoma City Thunder in a 4-1 series win.

NBA Finals MVP LeBron James drove to the basket and knocked down a lay-up to put the Heat up 82-63 with 3:55 to go in the third quarter; the party began in South Florida from there. James captured his first NBA Championship ring after nine seasons in the association.

James held an uncomfortable distinction: the only NBA player with three most valuable player awards but no rings. The last player to win a regular season MVP and Finals MVP in the same season was Tim Duncan in 2003. Michael Jordan accomplished that four times in his career. James finished the game with a triple double: 26 points, 11 rebounds and 13 assists.

After losing the 2011 NBA Finals to the Mavericks, the Heat became the 11th team in NBA history to win an NBA championship the next season after losing in the Finals. The last team to accomplish that was the Lakers in 2009 after losing to the Celtics in the 2008 NBA Finals. Miami was on fire from three-point land and the Thunder could not cool them down. The Heat went 14 of 26 in three pointers made. Mike Miller had the hot hand with seven three-pointers made coming off the bench. Collectively, Miami made 40 plus three-pointers in the entire Finals, an NBA record.

On the opposite end, The Thunder lost their last four games. It is the team’s first four-game losing streak this postseason and only their second three-game losing streak all season. The Thunder went on a postseason-high three consecutive games without reaching 100 points. Entering the game, when the Thunder have reached 100 points this postseason, they’re 10-1. They scored over 100 points on 41% percent shooting; the Heat shot 52 percent from the field.

The Miami Heat will be raising their second championship banner in franchise history. The Heat trailed in three different series this postseason. The big three in James, Wade and Bosh accomplished their mission in a winning a title. They trailed in the conference semifinals 2-1 to the Pacers, in the conference finals 3-2 to the Celtics, and in the NBA Finals 1-0 to the Thunder. No team entering this postseason has won a title in NBA history after trailing in three different series in a single postseason. The Heat went on to lead this series 3-1. No team has ever come back from a 3-1 series deficit to win the NBA Finals. Teams with a 3-1 series lead in the Finals are now 31-0 all-time.

Follow on Twitter @Midwaymadness


  • Keltonhatchett

    What you have to give credit to, is to even make it back to the finals after last years lost to the Mav’s. With that crazy off season lockout, hardly any team practice, and a hectic schedule like no other, to bring home that trophy, says it all. (I wonder what Gar Forman is thinking??)